Model help: Airbrushing

Archive for discussions from 2006. Please post new discussions in the appropriate forum.

Moderators: neps, Matthew, Michael Pajaro

Knight2000
FLAG Recruit
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0

Model help: Airbrushing

Post by Knight2000 » Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:57 pm

I've worked on my KITT model over the xmas hols. Everything's pretty much done except for the shell/bonnet/nose/wheels/rear bumper all of which need to be painted.

I decided to invest in an airbrush+propellant+thinner. I plan to start practising on some cardboard etc tomorrow, with the aim of a first coat on Weds.

Since I've never done this before, are there any hints and tips you guys can offer?

If all works well, I hope to have my model complete for the monday bank holiday.

Cheers :lol:

HondaSiR
FLAG Assistant

Re: Model help: Airbrushing

Post by HondaSiR » Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:50 pm

Knight2000 wrote:I plan to start practising on some cardboard etc tomorrow
Cardboard is not the same material that is used on plastic model kits. If you have another car kit that is not of importance to you, use the car's shell as a practice run. Or buy any cheap car kit in a hobby store and practice on that first, doesn't matter what car model.

Don't forget to wash the part to be painted with soap and water to remove oil residue from the factory. Other modeler's apply primer first before painting. It's up to you. :)

Knight2000
FLAG Recruit

Re: Model help: Airbrushing

Post by Knight2000 » Tue Apr 25, 2006 5:03 am

HondaSiR wrote: Cardboard is not the same material that is used on plastic model kits. If you have another car kit that is not of importance to you, use the car's shell as a practice run. Or buy any cheap car kit in a hobby store and practice on that first, doesn't matter what car model.
Yeah I know but it's more for practising using the airbrush, getting used to it etc, rather than practising airbrushing the model.

Cheers for the help

HungarianKnight
FLAG Recruit