Listen to this!!!

Archive for discussions from 2004. Please post new discussions in the appropriate forum.

Moderators: Matthew, neps, Michael Pajaro

Locked
User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Listen to this!!!

Post by Skav » Thu May 20, 2004 11:08 am

My friend just called me, he only lives about a mile from me, and says his neighbour has converted his TA into the KR car, FULL WHACK!!!

Apparently, it's got the scanner, the dash, everything.

Gonna get down there, he's coming round tomorrow to show me some pics of it that he captured on his phone anyway.

Anyone know if there is a way I can transfer the pics from his phone to the PC so i can show you the pics?

probably just the same way as a normal digital camera, huh?

I'm excited at the thought of KITT being near me. this sounds like it rocks!!! :P

Skav

User avatar
K.I.T.T
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England
Contact:

Post by K.I.T.T » Thu May 20, 2004 11:51 am

If yoru PC has infa-red then you can send to your PC that way! Or get yourself the data cable for that said phone. Have you or your mate got a laptop? if so that will certainly have infa-red!

Is this guy on the Knights Of England registry Skav? As im sure Steve will probably know him.



Nick

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Post by Skav » Thu May 20, 2004 12:40 pm

I was thinking about that K.I.T.T, and will defo ask him. :)

Skav

User avatar
neps
Site Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: nyc, usa
Contact:

Post by neps » Thu May 20, 2004 1:45 pm

Another option is bluetooth. If his phone is Nokia or SonyEricsson it will most likely have it. If your computer doesn't have the technology a USB adapter can be found for like $20 US, so it should be pretty cheap there.

Also, if your mate has MMS, he can just email them to you.

User avatar
KARR Engineer
FLAG Recruit
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:12 pm
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by KARR Engineer » Thu May 20, 2004 1:55 pm

OR computer transfer cable (something like that)...
But that's not always the best...

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Post by Skav » Thu May 20, 2004 2:23 pm

I just checked, my PC doesn't have the infrared so I'll go for the USB cable or bluetooth. found a bluetooth cable or whatever it's called, on ebay for 15.99. is that cheap? it's wireless too.

Skav
Last edited by Skav on Thu May 20, 2004 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Menace
Rookie
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 1:51 pm
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: London UK
Contact:

Post by Menace » Thu May 20, 2004 2:26 pm

Hi Skav,

Where do you live? I assume it is in the UK? Where exactly?

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Post by Skav » Thu May 20, 2004 2:28 pm

Hi, I will PM you the answer.

Skav

User avatar
neps
Site Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: nyc, usa
Contact:

Post by neps » Thu May 20, 2004 4:07 pm

That sounds like a good price to me Skav. But perhaps you should find out and tell us the make and model of your friends phone. Then we can do some checking up on the specs and find your best method of attack. :twisted:

User avatar
aussieknight
FLAG Recruit
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 5:28 pm
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by aussieknight » Thu May 20, 2004 7:22 pm

As neps said, just email it! Cheaper than buying cables.
:kittspin:
"What do you mean, 'get'? You ARE in big trouble." -KITT, Not a Drop to Drink.

User avatar
SwEeTiNsAnItY
Operative
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 2:03 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Anywhere inside of, on top of or beneath KITT ;)
Contact:

Post by SwEeTiNsAnItY » Fri May 21, 2004 12:00 am

I'm excited for ya Skav! I don't care how ya do it, just make sure ya get the pictures and let us see 'em!!! :P

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Post by Skav » Fri May 21, 2004 9:46 am

Spoke to my friend today and he has the Motorola 300. He confirmed it does have MMS but he doesn't wanna pay out to go on the net cos he reckons it'll cost him a lot of money - tight git! lol.

So, if that bluetooth device works for this specific model, I'll get it.

The car is not going anywhere because the owner lives down there where my friend lives. So plenty of opportunity for pics. :)

I didn't get the owners name because my friend didn't remember but he'll ask him...I did get that this guy customised it himself and got the parts from the US. It cost him around $15,000. But it doesn't have the hubcaps for the wheels. However, it has the dash and scanner.

So pics coming soon, hopefully.

Skav

User avatar
neps
Site Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: nyc, usa
Contact:

Post by neps » Fri May 21, 2004 10:22 am

Okay here is the phone:

http://commerce.motorola.com/cgi-bin/nc ... 1&zipcode=

If he doesn't want to pay for MMS (or let you pay the .20 for each email?) then you may be out of luck. I can't see any mention of bluetooth or infrared, your only option would be purchasing a USB cable. You can probably find a cheaper option at eBay, but at Motorola's website it's $60 bucks.

http://commerce.motorola.com/cgi-bin/nc ... ype=253230

How cheap are VGA quality cameras there? For 60 bucks I could get a dirt cheap digital that will give me the same quality as this camera phone, and it would come with the USB cable. You wont be able to upgrade the memory in the camera, but it may be a better option cause you can use it over and over again.

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Post by Skav » Fri May 21, 2004 11:27 am

I have a digital camera, but without the USB upload cable since it was lost, I think the best option is for me to get a quick replacement of that and take the pics with my camera. The quality of the pics are excellent.

I will peruse ebay and see what I can come up with.

Edit: Found the usb data cable for motorola v300 for £6.99. Will go for this option instead.

Thanks!

Skav

User avatar
neps
Site Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: nyc, usa
Contact:

Post by neps » Fri May 21, 2004 11:38 am

Well what type of digital media does your camera use, you can also get a USB adapter that can read that media and plug into your machine. Don't let that digital camera goto waste!

Nice find! Now all you need to do is track down the software! ;)

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Post by Skav » Fri May 21, 2004 11:49 am

The software comes with the data cable, no problem there. :)

Full contents of the camera are as follows:

Digital Camera MX-1200
SmartMedia 2MB, 3.3V
Serial Cable (missing)
Data Transfer software
Photo Deluxe for Windows
TWAINE driver, which is for download.

Skav

User avatar
KFCreator
FLAG Recruit
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Post by KFCreator » Fri May 21, 2004 1:09 pm

As an Apple computer techie (don't worry, this applies to computers and digital devices in general), I'd agree with Neil and say that your best bet is to go with finding a quick replacement cable for your digital camera. Data cables for phones can be useful and fun but the biggest and most obvious drawback to taking pics on a cellphone is that the quality of the pics are usually so much worse (and smaller size-wise) that you wouldn't want to take good pics on a cell (unless you have one of those insanely expensive new cell phones that has a 1.2MP camera built right in). Only take pics on a cell if you want very quick snapshots but don't care too much about the quality. Put down the cash for a new data cable for your digital camera and don't think twice about it IMHO.
"One man can make a difference. You can make a difference in someone else's life. You can make a difference in your own life." -- David Hasselhoff

User avatar
neps
Site Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: nyc, usa
Contact:

Post by neps » Fri May 21, 2004 1:50 pm

Skav, you just need a flash memory reader and that Digital Camera can be living again. Most of them are 6 in 1s, which handle SmartMedia, Compact Flash, Sony MemoryStick whatever, so it should last with whatever you upgrade to down the line.

Just a quick search on Amazon revealed this one for under $20:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/de ... s&n=507846

Hope that helps.

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Post by Skav » Fri May 21, 2004 4:37 pm

Thanks very much Neil, I will now keep my options open and look forward to bringing pics soon. :)

Cheers
Skav

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Post by Skav » Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:50 am

Image

Image

Just thought I'd kick this up as I finally got some pics. Couldn't get inside the dash, so my friend said. I didn't take these. But at the time, the wheels did have the hub cap plates, he said.

Hopefully, I'll go there myself to get some more good shots.

Thanks to Sith for helping me out. Appreciate it!! :)

Skav

User avatar
Mikko L
Rookie
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by Mikko L » Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:11 am

sweet car! I want it! 8)

Locked